Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award

Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award

The annual Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award is a renowned competition challenging artists from across New Zealand to transform the iconic agricultural product, No.8 wire, into inspiring art. 

The sixteen finalist's and winning works are available to view and purchase in a month-long exhibition at Hamilton’s ArtsPost Galleries & Shop, which opened on Friday 26 May. For more information, go to

Each year entrants are invited to utilise agricultural-based materials and No.8 wire to create sculptural artworks and compete for a prize pool worth nearly $10,000.

Entries closed on the 14 April 2023, and winners have been announced.

We kindly thank our family of supporters

Hosted by our sponsors:

2023 Winners

  • First prize: Ricks Terstappen, Connectivity
  • Second prize: Gina Ferguson, Cluster Buster Bath Bomb
  • Third prize: Jeff Thomson and Bev Goodwin, Cyclonic
  • Chair's Choice: Heather Olesen, In Case of Emergency...Break Glass

1st Prize

Guest judge, sculptor Hannah Kidd with Ricks Terstappen's “Connectivity".

2nd Prize

Bev Goodwin (“Cyclonic”), with NZ National Fieldays Society CEO Peter Nation.

3rd Prize

John McKenzie with “641E9372”

Chair’s Choice Award

New Zealand National Fieldays Society Chair Jenni Vernon selected “In Case of Emergency...Break Glass” by Heather Olesen.

2023 Prizes

  • First prize: $7,000
  • Second prize: $1,000
  • Third prize: $500
  • Chair’s choice: $100 ArtsPost voucher
  • People’s choice: $100 ArtsPost voucher

Fieldays Partners and Premier Sponsor