No.8 Wire National Art Award

The New Zealand National Agricultural Fieldays is proud to present the
No.8 Wire National Art Award, in partnership with Waikato Museum and
ArtsPost Galleries & Shop

Entry to the Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award 2017 has now closed. Thank you to all the artists who submitted entries - best of luck to you all. The public exhibition will run at ArtsPost from Friday 21 April to Monday 22 May 2017, and some select pieces will be displayed at Fieldays from 14-17 June 2017.

The No. 8 Wire award challenges artists to create innovative artworks using predominantly No.8 Wire. Following from last year, the criteria has been changed to encourage entrants to utilise agricultural-based materials and a minimum 50 per cent No.8 wire. The judge for the 2017 award is Dr Robin Woodward.

The Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award was established by the New Zealand National Fieldays Society Inc. in 1997 and is partnered by Waikato Museum and ArtsPost. 

The winners of the Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award will be announced 5.30pm Thursday 20 April, 2017.

2017 competition details

First prize: $7,000
Second prize: $1,000
Third prize: $500
President’s Choice: $100 ArtsPost voucher
People's Choice: $100

Entry close: 5pm Tuesday 7 March 2017
Finalists notified: Monday 20 March 2017
Opening and Awards event: 5.30pm, Thursday 20 April 2017
Exhibition: Friday 21 April to Monday 22 May 2017
Venue: ArtsPost Galleries and Shop, 120 Victoria Street, Hamilton. 

Read the terms and conditions

2016 winners

First: Ben Pearce, Stone Age Eight Gauge
Second: Cherise Thomson, Korowai
President’s choice: Becca Bolscher, Tui's Nest.
Third: Jenta Griffin, Pater Prime


Fieldays Members Login Area
email this pageprint this pagesite maplegal information | login
evoSuite Tourism Marketing Software | Web Design by ReserveGroup